Guadeloupe Travel Information

Photo Guadeloupe includes nine inhabited islands, including Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Marie-Galante, La Desirade, Iles des Saintes, Saint-Barthelemy, Iles de la Petite Terre, and Saint-Martin (French part of the island of Saint Martin).

Important: Travel to Guadeloupe may require a travel visa. Whether a visa is required for travel depends on citizenship and purpose of journey. Please be sure to review Travisa's Guadeloupe visa instructions for details. Visa instructions for other countries are available on our do I need a visa page.

Country Statistics

Full country name: Overseas Collectivity of Saint Martin
Capital city: Marigot
Area: 54.4 sq km
Population: 30,959
Ethnic groups: Creole
Languages: French
Religions: Roman Catholic, Jehovah's Witnesses, Protestant, Hindu
Chief of State: President Francois HOLLANDE
Head of Government: President of the Territorial Council Alain RICHARDSON
Major industries: tourism, light industry and manufacturing, heavy industry
Natural resources: salt
Location: Caribbean, located in the Leeward Islands